top of page

Tri-City Schools

"A Pathway to Success" is the vision statement of Tri-City Schools which proudly became the first unified school district in Illinois formed in 1938. Tri-City Schools, conveniently located off I-72 and 14 minutes from Springfield, serves a beautiful 97 square mile area. The three towns that compose Tri-City are Buffalo, Dawson, and Mechanicsburg. The entire school campus is located at Buffalo and houses grades Pre-K - 12, making it convenient for parents and schools to communicate, coordinate, and educate young people together.  Pre-K - 12 student enrollment is typically right around 550 students  allowing small classes with individual recognition and attention to foster self-esteem and enhance learning. A range of curriculum offerings are offered at the junior and high school levels. Several extracurricular activities are available for students as well with high school extracurricular cooperatives existing with neighboring school districts.  Each Tri-City staff member is committed to the mission statement:  "The Tri-City CUSD #1 is dedicated to providing every student multiple ways to success."

History of Buffalo High School

History of Dawson High School

History of Mechanicsburg High School

bottom of page